• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Finally...I'll go

roadscholar

Years ago I got intrigued by walking the Camino to Santiago. Instead I went to the States and walked through several states. Over the years I found out how incredibly soothing and insightful walking can be, putting one step in front of the other, so simple and yet so powerful.

I just moved from Canada back to Holland where I got the idea to walk through the Ardennes all the way down the North Camino or coast to Santiago. At the moment I am a complete novice and have to get updated on information.

Aside from the camaraderie, are there sometimes problems and what kind of problems? I am walking by myself, a 58-year-old woman, and wonder what I can expect? As I prefer not to plan ahead to keep an element of surprise intact (usually that works better for me), is it possible to get into hostels? If one gets "stuck" outside, could you sleep outside or if that against the law?

Anyone who can tell me where to look for pertinent info, what book to read, what maps to look at etc. will be appreciated. I'll go at the right time, soon, when the weather gets a bit warmer.

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
Montana Greeetings

Hello Roadscholar,

I am Linda and am planning to walk the Camino this March/April. I got a lot of good information from the Confraternity of St. James. They have a book store with some good guides. I purchased three so as to get a variety of info.