• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Friday the 13 of April

Guemes

Time of past OR future Camino
None
I apologize if this is a duplicate message. I’m still trying to learn how to navigate here! I am planning on leaving SJPdP for Roncevalles on Friday, April the 13. It is my first time on Camino and I’m a first time traveler in Europe! Needless to say I’m jittery. I’m hoping to do the Napoleon route weather permitting and am hoping there might be others starting this day too.

My husband will be going by bus, taxi, ???? to our destination. Any ideas for him?

Thanks for all those who share good advice and information on this forum. So helpful and appreciated.

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-
Rest assured, you are NOT the only one with jitters who is a first-time traveller to Europe. Ideas for your husband? Well, he will get there (to Roncesvalles) early and have some time to rest a bit. I might recommend that he starts off later in the day, so he can enjoy time in lovely SJPDP rather than the much smaller Roncesvalles.

He could walk you to your starting point, and continue with you for a ways, and then hug you goodbye. He could even walk you to the albergue, if he is able to do some hard exercise. It is a steep uphill for the first five kilometers, for sure! If he can not walk up the hill, he could take a taxi to the albergue / restaurant about an hour after YOU start walking, and he could enjoy a coffee, beer, or a bite to eat with you?