• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

intro and call for musicians on camino frances

marcpilgrim

Hello,

I am a classical guitarist who loves to play Spanish music. I've done two walks of the camino so far and I know that acoustic music would be a major welcome in many of the pilgrim hostels (but please, no rock, unless there's a party brewing). Occasionally I found guitars sitting in hostels and it was much appreciated when I played for people. This time I am going to bring my own guitar. I would love to find a pilgrim that plays flute or recorder, that reads music and is planning to walk in May.

I am planning to start in St. Jean Pied du Port around May 1. If it matters, I am 38 and male.

My attitude toward walking partners is typical for the Camino. It is nice to meet people and it is also necessary to walk alone regularly so that the spiritual / inward side of the Camino can be experienced. It is fruitful to have walking buddies but also fruitful to walk with many people you meet on the trail.

So I'm not looking for a walking partner so that I avoid being alone. Just someone who wants to make beautiful music and share it with pilgrims from time to time as appropriate and appreciated. If you are interested I can exchange music with you before the Camino or bring copies along if your sight reading is great. I've got jazz, classical, pop, Brazilian, Spanish, and some Cantigas (Medieval pilgrim music from Spain). Any music you have is welcome if it is easy enough for me to extract the harmonies (the chords).

Trust me if you are a musician this will add tremendously to the magic of the Camino. And that is saying alot.

Buen Camino to all future pilgrims.
Marc

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!