• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Italian, and in love with the Camino

moromauro

moromauro
Time of past OR future Camino
Caminho de los Faros, in Galicia
Hi everyone!
I'm Maurizio and maybe i'm not actually a new member, having joined this forum some months ago!
Anyway, as this is my first post here, i write it in this section in order to briefly introduce myself.

I'm 49 y.o. and i live in Tuscany (Italy), in a country area located more or less at 35 Kms from Pisa and 50 Kms. from Florence; i work as an inspector for the National (actually: regional) Health Service, in what could be considered as the italian version of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration; my work consists mainly of controlling the food producing chain and to give the methodological support in order to maintain the quality certification (according to ISO rule 9001) my office got some years ago.

I "fell in love" with the "Camino" just 4 years ago when i was there for my first time, in may 2009, walking from Saint Jean pied-de-port to Santiago with a very good friend of mine: it was something that happened completely by chance, just because another acquaintance with whom i had previously planned a trekking route in Sardinia had to give up our plan, so my friend talked to me about that "Camino" i've never heard about before... and all began from that! :wink:

The Camino Francès was a bit crowded indeed but, hey!, what an experience!
All those people from all over the world, all those different lives & stories... inspirations... problems... expectations and, yet, that feeling to be a sort of community: i was almost astonished, but in a completely positive way.
Even an agnostic, as i actually am, can't avoid to get involved in that sense of "common ground" that, as human beings, includes us all.