• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Leg, foot rashes: Purpura (?)

Time of past OR future Camino
Baztan and Frances 04/24
I have been hiking for over three years. Leaving restaurants, flights and commercial activities aside, I started walking more than the usual 2 kms. Lost 20 kgs.

I am Preparing to hike / walk the Olvidado, thevSan Salvador and Primitivo in September. Training has become essential as there are stages of close to 30 kms and lots of gradients.

The day before yesterday, I hiked my first 40 km. Returning home, both my feet and legs showed red rashes.No itching but spots of red here and there. At first, I thought that it was due to new trousers and new hiking shoes, then it was due to heat and extra effort, and finally due to lactic acid but I had a doubt.

I searched this forum and found no mention of this, reason why I started this thread.

Has anyone had experience of these red rashes that tend to disappear after some time?

Attachments

• IMG_2166.jpeg
    IMG_2166.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 1,325
  • IMG_2162.jpeg
    IMG_2162.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 91
Last edited by a moderator:
3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
There’s plenty of discussion on the forum of hiker’s rash or golfer’s rash. Also called exercise induced vasculitis (EIV), and very common on the Camino. EIV seems more likely than purpura, which is a symptom of significant underlying conditions, based on the entry in Wikipedia.

Last edited:
There’s plenty of discussion on the forum of hiker’s rash of golfer’s rash. Also called exercise induced vasculitis (EIV), and very common on the Camino. EIV seems more likely than purpura, which is a symptom of significant underlying conditions, based on the entry in Wikipedia.