• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Mosquitoes

cearc

Hi All
This is my first time to (try to) post a message.
I am starting my first camino walk in Astorga on August 27th.
One question: Are mosquitoes a problem along the way? Is it necessary to take precautions?
Thanks,
Cearc

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
Right now there are TONS of mosquitos about in the evening. If they really bother you, bring along a little bug spray.
That said, bug spray is one of the items most often left behind by pilgrims concerned about extra weight. Maybe you should just wait til you get here, start out, and see if there´s a problem. You can buy bug spray in Spain.

reb

Reb, do you know if the mosquitoes are bad in June? Just curious as I plan for next year.

Mike

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
Hi, Normally I get eaten alive by mossies or any other little biting/stinging creatures but I found taking vitamin B12 for 2 weeks before I left and during the walk seemed to work. The time of year was not peak mosquito time so maybe supplement by using light spray bought locally. Good luck. Nell

I do like good info!

another possibility is to bring a mossie hat net ... it is a mossie net that goes over your hat and there is a shoulder tie cord ... only keeps them off your face of course but works for those horrid midges as well - and if you are careful you can drink wine through it too ..

just put mosquito head nets or mosquito hat nets into google .. very light very cheap wear them just for the evenings when they all rise .. can also wear them in bed ... just a thought