• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

New to the Camino! Questions...

loridovi

Time of past OR future Camino
Newbie to the Camino
Hi Fellow Travelers,

I want to walk the Camino or part of it in April/May. I am solo. What trails are the easiest, fewer people, rural and will have the best weather?! I have 2 weeks. I walk in The Aude of France so Im not a complete newbie to hiking, but I have decided to only walk 11km a day and enjoy my time, not in any rush with a destination.

I am thinking of Santiago to Fisterra/Muxia AND OR Vigo to Santiago...

Any insights greatly appreciated,
Lori

Last edited:
Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
It would ( in general) be easier to answer questions if the poster would tell more about herself and her preferences regarding for instance landscape; weather, rural or urban and so on

Is it important for you to get to Santiago de Compostela, or do you just want to walk? Do you speak Spanish? How far would you like to walk every day? Would you like to sleep in cheap albergues, or go from hotel to hotel?

In general, I recommend the last stretch of Camino Francés, from Sarría to Santiago, for first time walkers. There are plenty of accommodation options, services in English, lots of pilgrims to make friends with, and it's fairly flat. It is also long enough for you to get the Compostela (piece of paper that grants you absolution), if that is of interest.

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
Hi Lori: