• For 2024 Pilgrims: ā‚¬50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Sarria to Santiago taster / sept 08

gavin

Hello

my name is Gavin, I decided about a month ago that I was going to walk the Camino next year probably in April/May. But I'm so desperate to do it I've decided to walk the last leg this year. I'ts all a bit last minute and I feel very unprepared ( I have found this site to be incredibly helpful though especially regarding gear I need and someone posted about the John Brierley guide which I think is excellent )

Anyway there are two main scares I've got at the moment 1. my new boots are a good fit and feel great ( I'm a trainer wearer as a rule ) I wore them round the house for a few days but when I walked in them I got a blister ( i only did a couple of hours ) Do you think I should leave them at home and walk in sports sandals?

2. I feel quite scared about getting a place to sleep, should I think about pre booking hotels or would that strip the essence out of this mini pilgrimage?

Any advice would be gratefully received, thanks again

Gavin.

Prepare for your next Camino on California's Santa Catalina Island, Oct 27 to Nov 2
Hi Gavin,
I would suggest that you wear your trainers. You won't be climbing any mountains or walking on any really difficult paths so trainers will be fine.
I walked in September last year and we didn't have any problems finding beds between Sarria and Santiago. August is the crazy time when everyone is on holiday and they decide to walk the last 100kms of the camino.
Have a great walk.

Prepare for your next Camino on California's Santa Catalina Island, Oct 27 to Nov 2
Hi Gavin and welcome to the Forum :)