• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

School work/Summer school during the Camino...

ilovelife

So I'm currently in third year of my university degree. I have registered to do an 'easy' online course beginning May 07 and ending July 25. My Camino will commence late April and end late June. This means that if I choose to keep this course and complete it I will have to use a computer once a week, every week, during my entire Camino. I know almost all albergues have Weefee and that internet access won't be an issue. However, is the speed of internet an issue? This I don't know.

I believe that I can handle the course and do the Camino at the same time. But from other people's perspectives that have completed their Camino's in the past, is this a realistic venture to carry out?

Obviously I would like to dedicate my entire time to strictly enjoying my Camino and not worry about school. The reason I am doing this course is so that my workload come September will be a lot lighter and manageable.

I guess what I am really wondering is if anyone has done something similar like this during their Camino.

Thanks.
Antonio.

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
Are you going to need a computer to use? Or are you bringing a tablet? I believe finding a computer to use may be difficult, and they are time limited sessions I think. More and more Pilgrims have a device so the need for an albergue to have a computer available for use is decreasing. Often the Wifi is available in the reception area, so it may be noisy too. But, it probably is doable. Good luck!

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms