• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

🚴 Shipping bikes from Santiago service

ivar

Administrator
Staff member
Hola bicigrinos,

When I have completed my move to my new place in Santiago, I think I have space to do more with bikes... shipping bikes home for people for example.

But since I am new to this, I have some questions.

1) Do pilgrims ship ahead their own bike box to use for shipping home?
2) I could also offer the box... would something like this be ok for most/all bikes?

3) Pilgrims would have to pack the bikes themselves. I guess they are used to this? Do they have tools? (I can get some I guess)

I do currently ship with DHL Express. I currently offer DHL Air and will soon also offer ground transport to European destinations (slower and more economical).

For those of you that have shipped bikes home from Santiago before, what was the cost of such a service? (Just so I can compare my DHL rates and see if they are competitive).

Thank you!
Ivar

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
Thanks Ivar, another great service. I'm currently planning a VdlP for october and trying to sort out bike transportation. I'll follow this thread with a lot of interest!

Hi Ivar,
First let me say congratulations on your expansion and new premises.