• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Transport from San Sebastian to Ferrol

philro

Time of past OR future Camino
Inglese (2013)
After hunting around a bit I'm finding this information difficult to come by. There should be trains and buses covering (however roundabout) the route but I can't find the details. Any information and advice for a first timer would be appreciated. :D

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-
Hola I'm no expert in this but I think you could take a bus from San Sebastian to Oviedo and then take the FEVE train to Ferrol. I know there are other forum members who have made this journey and I am sure they will advise.

John

Hi, philro,

I haven't made this trip either, but I have pretty good luck using the website movelia.es to find bus routes. Looking there, I saw that you can either go via Ponferrada or via Bilbao.

Option 1 -- SS - Ponferrada, leaves 9 am, arrives 6:30 pm (41 euros)
Ponferrada - El Ferrol, leaves 6:45 pm, arrives 9:30 pm (22 euros)

Option 2 -- SS-Bilbao (many buses, one leaving at 9:10 am gets you to Bilbao for the one bus daily to El Ferrol) (6 euros)
Bilbao - El Ferrol, leaves 1045 am, arrives 9:30 p.m (22 euros)