• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Traveling in groups

kellyz

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances Astorga to Santiago, 2010
Camino Frances SJPP to Muxia, 2011
Camino del Salvador, 2012
Camino Primitivo 2012
Camino Portuguese, Coastal, 2013
Hi,
I'm a high school teacher planning to bring a small group of 2014 grads on the Camino from Astorga to Santiago. I'm wondering if anyone knows if there are restrictions on groups checking into albergues. (I know we can't reserve.)

Any other advice about walking with/ facilitating/arranging small (6-10) groups, especially of young people, would be greatly appreciated!
I've walked a few caminos on my own, but "leading" is new.
Thanks, Kelly

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
Actually, it is possible to make reservations in *private* albergues. It is advisable for groups, and probably more or less mandatory after Sarriá, when the Camino gets really crowded.
The "no reservation" rule is for parochial and municipal albergues.

Hi,
I'm a high school teacher planning to bring a small group of 2014 grads on the Camino from Astorga to Santiago. I'm wondering if anyone knows if there are restrictions on groups checking into albergues. (I know we can't reserve.)

Any other advice about walking with/ facilitating/arranging small (6-10) groups, especially of young people, would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks, Kelly
Kelly,