• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Umm... Hiya!

Daydream

Thought I might introduce myself.
My name is Nicole and I'm from Sweden and I'm a fresh noob on this forum.
I just compleated my first Camino about a month ago. And it was the single best thing I've ever done in my life.
Atm. I'm raising money to be able to walk next year as well and also to be able to do my big walk from home in 2009-2010. If anyone here's got any experience of walking the Camino from their own country I'll be glad to hear it.

Lots of Love

/Nicole

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-
umm --- hiya

Hi Nicole,
I'm Brendan in the north of England. In March 2005 I stepped out from my house to walk all the way to Santiago. This meant walking to the ferry at North Shields and crossing to Amsterdam, and then walking on from there. I decided to walk down to Le Puy-en-Velay, via Rheims and Vezelay, because then there are more gites. Going through Holland, Belgium and northern France I had worked out roughly which towns might have hotels, b&b's. I didn't always get it right and sometimes in France the hotels are closed Sunday night.
Another advantage of going via Le Puy is that you will meet other pilgrims, if that is what you like, after many weeks of walking alone. Because of publicity over recent years you will find, if you carry a shell, that people recognize what you are doing and will give you encouragement. The whole journey took 4 months.