• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Very excited...

IsabelaHapsburg

Hi, I am walking around the end of Sept or beginning of Oct, depending on when I finish my MA dissertation. I'm trying to do as much research as possible to enhance my journey. There's alot I want to see along the way. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

Peace!

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
Welcome to the forum, Isabela!

I think you'll find a lot of helpful information here.

As a former academic myself, may I ask what your M.A. dissertation is on? Does it somehow involve the Camino?

Peace,

Steve S

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
Thanks for the Welcome!

I'm studying Egyptology, which I suppose has nothing to do with the Camino. But for me it does. All of my studies are connected with my spiritual life. I wanted to study Egyptian religion (as I believe all religions are connected on a spiritual level) and my dissertation is on the god Thoth (Djehuty) in the Pyramid Texts (oldest existing religious text). I just felt that walking would be 'icing on the cake' after the dissertation. I'm also going through St. Ignatius' Spiritual Exercises (at a very slow pace b/c my body is already under much stress from work and uni). And I want to work on my Spanish and consider what I will do after the degree. It just feels like the right time, and I have the money to do it. I can't wait to meet people along the journey.

And my name isn't really Isabela Hapsburg, just a screen name. My true passion in history- the Hapsburgs, particularly the Spanish Hapsburgs. I read somewhere there's a place that Philip II slept along the Camino.

Thanks again. I look forward to learning from your experiences.

Peace,

Isa

xm said: