• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Writing on the journey

rglongpre

Time of past OR future Camino
Le Puy - Figeac (2012); Camino Frances (August 28, 2015)
I am a writer, plain and simple. I will be walking for about three months and that is a lot of paper-weight to consider. I blog almost everyday, mostly about the human psyche, Jungian psychology, Buddhism and active imagination while using photographs taken en route. My blogging posts have been posted from a month in India, a month in Vietnam, a month in Thailand, three months in Mexico, three months in Costa Rica and from various locales in Canada over the past five years.

I use a Vaio Z series 13.3 laptop (3 lbs and 6 hour battery life) and have downsized my camera to a Nikon Coolpix 810 (430 g). I don't have a cell phone/dumb phone/smart phone/iPad or whatever - no mp3 or iPod, nor do I intend on getting any of these. It comes down to choices based on so many "personal" factors. Will this make me less of a pilgrim? I don't think so. The truth is, we are all pilgrims whether we are walking the camino, or trudging through our daily lives from house to car to work and home again.

If it is about being a purist pilgrim, leave the hi tech clothing, backpacks and shoes - basic sandals or barefoot wearing rough spun home-made clothing for the most part would fit the bill.