• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

1st timer..Camino de Madrid mid June 2916

Suzyjan

Time of past OR future Camino
Planning on walking mid June 2016!
I plan on starting my walk in Madrid mid June 2016. I'm nervous and love any advise about any and everything. This is my first time doing something like this.. Anyone else starting there? Tips? Can't I just walk in tennis shoes? Is the Madrid walk really only 2 weeks long?

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
I plan on starting my walk in Madrid mid June 2016. I'm nervous and love any advise about any and everything. This is my first time doing something like this.. Anyone else starting there? Tips? Can't I just walk in tennis shoes? Is the Madrid walk really only 2 weeks long?

Suzyjan:

What type of advice? I walked this route in April of this year. The first 40 km's are pretty flat, then you get into the mountains and the tough day is Cercedilla to Segovia. It is roughly an 8 km climb to Puento Fuenfria. after that about 23 km's of rolling downhill mostly through the woods until you get near Segovia, The next couple of days are mostly through the pine forests and then into farmland and the Meseta all the way to Sahagun. This walk can be done easily in my opinion in two weeks.

I made several posts about some sections and accommodations I utilized along the route. Several other folks, Peregrina2000, Kinkyone and others have also posted their experience in more detail.