Search over 55.000 Camino Questions

A donation to the forum removes ads for you, and supports Ivar in his work running it

Advertisement
Camino Maps
A collection of Camino Maps from the Camino Forum Store
Casa Ivar Pin
Custom hard enamel pin badge with silver coloured locking pin. Size: 30 mm.

Bed Buggs on the Camino Frances

miratur

I am going to do the Camino Frances from late April till June this year.
Last year there seemed to be a problem wuth bedbuggs on the Camino Frances. Does anyone know if they were successfully eradicated or not. Also is there anything that can be safely used to prevent them from biting you.

Original artwork based on your pilgrimage or other travel photos.
Camino Magnets
A collection of Camino Fridge Magnets

miratur

Thanks Arn for your help. As you have guessed I am new to this very informative website.

I shal be using Pyrethrum spray on my cloths and sleeping bag.

I still do not know if the bed buggs have been eradicated or not on the camino frances this year, that is if it is possible to get rid of them.

KiwiNomad06

Veteran Member
Year of past OR future Camino
Le Puy-Santiago(2008) Cluny-Conques+prt CF(2012)
miratur,
I think they do their best in most places to eradicate them, with sprays etc but in some places they are very well established. However, I think they are in the main more of a summer problem.

I was walking in Spain through June and early July and people seldom reported any issues with them. The main problems seemed to emerge just after I had finished as the summer crowds arrived. If you are mainly walking during May, you may well find them not much of a problem.
Margaret

D

Deleted member 3000

Welcome to the Board.

There is a lot posted here on bed bugs. Prevention is the best cure. They never go away because new one are constantly imported by pilgrims.

Falcon269

Casa Ivar Pin
Custom hard enamel pin badge with silver coloured locking pin. Size: 30 mm.
Camino Masks