• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Best starting point with 21 days

Sandie

Time of past OR future Camino
French route 2016
Hi there, I start my first camino near the end of September, I had initially planned on starting in sjdpp, with over five wks to spare
But now due to family commitments I need to shave it down to just three weeks
Can anyone recommend a good starting point that I can take to santiago de compostela that would be doable within 21 day time frame?
I would like to take in as much as the camino as possible, but as it's my first time I should possibly not try to be overly ambitious either!
Thanks for reading...all information greatly appreciated
Also...can you or do you need to pre book accommodation thanks xx sandie

Last edited:
3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
Critical factor: How far can you walk? 20km means 21 x 20 = 420 km.

Critical factor: How do you get there? Regular train and bus service.

So you need a place that meets both criteria.

Sahagun is located 387.5 km from Santiago and has regular service by Renfe train.

Burgos.
About 20-21 days from Santiago for a pilgrim walking at an average pace, and I'm sure you can get to Burgos from wherever you are arriving at in Spain.
If that's not doable, Carrion de los Condes is a few days closer, and probably ALSA buses go there.
No, you do not need to pre-book accommodations.
cheers and ultreia

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.
Transport luggage-passengers.
From airports to SJPP
Luggage from SJPP to Roncevalles