• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Best Value Backpack

contraprincess

Time of past OR future Camino
2013 & planning 2015 walk
I was wondering if you guys had any good suggestions for a cheap but well put together backpack that myself and my friend can take across the Camino. We are trying to keep costs down so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
I am not an expert, nor do I play one on TV, but here is what I did. First, I went to REI to get fitted for a backpack (many sporting goods stores will help you with that). Then, I took that information, and bought the pack online for a lower price. I did buy other gear while at REI, but found my big ticket items for less online. With hiking backpacks, it is really important to have the right fit, so you are better off trying them on before buying. I would also talk with the salesperson about the size you need....smaller is better, as it helps you to be more mindful of what you are taking with you, but don't go too small! I will be taking an Osprey Talon 33l pack when I leave on Aug. 27th.

Buen Camino!

Ruth

contraprincess said:
I was wondering if you guys had any good suggestions for a cheap but well put together backpack
There are two areas where you must not cut corners. Footwear and Backpack. You must get a pack that is big enough (up to 40l is about right) and fits well (get advice on what constitutes 'fitting well'). As a general rule your full pack should weigh no more than 10% of your bodyweight including water and food.
Ruth's suggestion of a Osprey Talon 33 is a great starting point. I took a Talon 44 last time, a little bigger as I needed extra clothing for Europe, both before and after. (I sent this extra clothing forward to Santiago)

Buen Camino