• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Camino Ingles for a newbie

mark8500

Time of past OR future Camino
Ingles
Hi, i have felt a need for a while now to walk a part of the camino, i'm new to all of this and come from North Yorkshire, i'll probably endeavour to do this in june.
Any tips would be most welcome, i'm 53 and quite fit, run half marathons, love trail running too. Here are a few questions.
1) would it be possible to complete this stretch in 4-5 days (limited time off work)
2) As a bit of a happy introvert is it enjoyable alone? ive never done anything like this before,
3) Where would i fly to to begin my quest. nearest airport
4) I'd love a day or so at the end on a nice beach with a book reflecting, any recommendations
5) Accomodation and food along the way, im mostly vegetarian, is it easy to find food and water and accomodatio

many thanks

Mark

A selection of Camino Jewellery
1. comfortably in five, quite possible in four
2. That’s a happy coincidence. Although the C. Ingles has been ‘discovered’ recently, at many times of year it’s still quiet. I walked in a February several years ago and had a fleeting glimpse of one other Peregrino.
3. Sadly Ryanair Edinburgh to Santiago has been discontinued. I was in no rush so went via Madrid and took the (also discontinued) overnight Trenhotel to Coruña
5. Whilst Spain is entirely suitable for veggies and increasingly for vegans; ‘mostly vegetarian’ will fit right in.

1: Yes, from Ferrol in 5 days. The stages would be

Ferrol – Pontedeume, 28 kms
Puntedeume – Betanzos, 20 kms
Betanzos – Hospital de Bruma, 24 kms
Hospital de Bruma – Sigüeiro, 24,5 kms
Sigüeiro – Santiago, 16 kms

2: I walked it alone and I really enjoyed it and it was not too crowded