• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

December/January Camino (second time around)

beckany

This is my second Camino, the first being over Dec/Jan of 2004-2005 with a walking group of 11-13. I was a student at the time, but have since gradutated and am now attempting to lead a group of three college students on the journey. We're starting in St Jean Pied de Port and making the walk all the way to Finisterre. I'm very excited to get back on the path.

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Hi beckany,

don't you worry about snow in the mountains? Do you think, you can cross the mountains at that time?

Thomas

We walked in snow for about four days, but it was not treacherous. I backpack back home a bit in the states, so it was nothing new. I walked in my tights, rain pants, and waterproof boots, and never had any problems. One day, I did step off the path, when the snow was new, and the path was not clear (on the ground... the signs are still there though) and ended up waist deep in a ditch, but my friends helped me out after laughing and taking a few pictures.

A few things to note. First of all, it was temperate when we were walking through the Pyraneese, and we didn't get snow until Puente la Reina through about Logrono. Secondly, I used trekking poles, and without them, I do not think I would have fared well in the snow and ice. I did take another fall on some ice on a paved part of the road, but that, too, can be avoided. Overall, I would much rather walk in the snow than in the rain. It's not as wet. Snow stays outside of your clothing, while rain sneaks in wherever it can.

Good luck with your walk! Buen Camino!