• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Hello!

WanderingBrian

Time of past OR future Camino
Sept 2023
Brian from Orlando here. Glad to "meet" everyone! I am planning my first solo Camino (Frances in March 2019) with great support from my wife (who probably is happy to get some alone time :)).

I am a photographer however I have mixed feelings around the magnitude of time I want to spend taking pictures and detracting from the walk, itself....something to think on in the coming months. Insight is always helpful.

I am well traveled however I have never tackled anything like this before so I am excited. I would love to go sooner however we have a few trips in between that prevent that from happening.

Thanks in advance for the advice I have yet to receive from the questions I have yet to ask.
~BW

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.
Hi Brian
i see your dilemma - take a proper camera and you're taking your work life with you. Plus, I guess, people who know you will expect something special in the results, which then puts more pressure on you to spend time on the photogrphay... perhaps.
One idea might be to just take a simple film camera and a limited number of rolls of film (limiting time spent shooting each day) and see what happens. There are squllions of amazing digital images of the camino out there but far fewer film ones shared - and most of those are from the bygone era. The atmosphere of film and the camino experience might make an interesting pairing?
Cheers, tom

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Welcome and ¡buen camino! I'm sure it'll be an amazing experience.