• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

I'm new here. I've walked and will walk again...

cecelia

Wandering for the love and growth of it
Time of past OR future Camino
Hi Everyone,
This is just a note to introduce myself as it's my first time on this site. I'm a Canadian, from Vancouver, and have been on the Camino Frances 3 times. In 2003 I walked alone from SJPP to Santiago de Compostela to celebrate my 60th year - and to do some thinking about 'the future', including a rather tentative grasp on spirituality. In 2006 I walked from SJPP to Burgos with my daughter and a friend.. This year in April/May I walked from SJPP to Finisterre.
Walking the camino has been a wonderful journey for me in so many ways and I will walk again soon - although will probably choose another route - likely either the Via de la Plata or whatever the way up from Arles in France is called. Not this year though unfortunately. In the meantime, I love connecting with those who have walked the camino and who will be doing so. I'm happy to give my opinion and share my experience with anyone who thinks it might be useful and when I'm ready to go again I will no doubt be seeking advice.
On a note of possible controvery I'd like to comment that although Santiago itself is a beautiful city and I have enjoyed visiting, it is certainly not my favourite place on the camino. Maybe something to do with the loud circus that towered over the city day and night for the four days I was there this year. But watching the sun rise or set at the end of the earth in Finisterre - ah - now that is a wonderful and appropriate end to a long journey!
Okay - that's probably way more than anyone wanted or needed to know. I look forward to reading the forum discussions and commenting where it might be helpful.
Peace and health to you all.
Cecelia