• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Is mid-November 2013 too late for Sarria to Santiago?

Hello, I'm a beginner walker with horrible map-reading skills, looking to do a self-guided camino. Is mid-November too late to do this, weather-wise? I am told November is rainy and cold, and that I need to be really good at walking in the dark because the days are shorter. I really want to go! But am wondering if I've missed the boat (for beginner hikers) this year, and maybe should be patient (for safety's sake) and do it next year. Any thoughts?

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
Are you pressed for time? I mean , do you have very few day to walk your Camino? If not you don´t have to walk in the dark at all. Just walk at your own pace and enjoy the countryside as you go along. Stop where you want to. The Camino is to be enjoyed , it´s not to be a penance.

As I said in the other post I have walked the Camino Frances only in summer. I didn´t leave the albergue till the sun was out. I had breakfast at a nearby bar then started out walking. Later I would stop again and had breakfast number two, rest, chatted with local & peregrinos and continued. When I saw fit I would call it a day.

I agree in November the days are shorter but how many hours do you plan to walk? If you plan to walk 6 hours a day , you´ll still have sunlight here.

Buen Camino!

Hi Sarah,

If you do choose to walk in November you will not be alone. Although the throngs of summer will have gone there are some pilgrims walking everyday.