• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

March 2018

Ann-MarieG

Time of past OR future Camino
March 2018
Hi, I'm from Ireland and new to this site. Actually, I'm new to Camino thinking and nervous and excited, very excited. :)

A few of us have decided to walk the Camino, Sarria to Santiago - we started as 6 with flights booked but think there may be 10 of us by the time next March (24th) comes around. We chose March as it is a time/month that suits us all. We know it will be cold and wet but will get lots of practice walks in the rain here in Ireland.

This site has been a godsend, full of information and any questions that pop into my head go into the search box and voila - I have my answer. Its a fantastic resource.

I have become a Camino bore over the last few weeks and really have to stop myself from going on about it when out with friends.

My plans for the 8 months before my Camino:-

Now to end of November - well I'm currently about 3 stone overweight:confused: (put on after breaking my shoulder and then my leg in quick succession) so my first goal is to lose weight and get fitter. Ive been going to a local gym and doing classes plus I love to walk to am getting a couple of 5k walks in each week.

From End of November:- well its my birthday at the end of November so out will come my new walking shoes and socks that husband and kids will lovingly wrap and hand over to me (I've already ordered online, having found the shoes in a local shop but was cheaper online) I will start wearing in the shoes and increasing my distances and adding in some local hills. Will walk come rain, hail or snow because that's probably the weather we will get there in March.