• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

My Introduction

reynolds303

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Francés (Planned for 2020, will attempt in future)
Hi all,

My name is Paul and I'm from Colorado. I've felt called to walk the Camino de Santiago for a long time now. When I was 17, I visited Spain for the first time, where I studied in Santiago de Compostela for about 5 weeks. Our residence hall and classes for our program were in the HospederĂ­a San MartĂ­n Pinario, right next to the cathedral. Every day from our classroom, we could see hundreds of pilgrims walking past the side of the cathedral towards the Plaza del Obradoiro. I had never heard about the Camino beforehand, but obviously interacted with many pilgrims while I was there, from so many different countries. I was so impressed by their adventures, and always had it in the back of my mind that I'd like to go back to Spain someday to do it.

Well, fast forward 15 years, I've been back to Spain several times, but have yet to do a Camino and return to Santiago de Compostela. Being a Spanish teacher, I've taught my students about the Camino de Santiago, and even wrote about how it has evolved over the centuries as my thesis for my master's from the University of Salamanca. I love Spain, and I am excited to experience the Camino as a pilgrim this upcoming summer. I have been torn trying to pick between the Francés and Norte routes. As of now, I'm leaning towards the Francés, since I've read that the Norte is a bit more challenging with its steep descents (still getting back to full strength after knee surgery from last winter), but I'll make my decision in another month or two. I'm excited for the experience!

ETA 28/1/20: Decided on the Camino Francés. I'm very excited and am looking forward to my first Camino this summer.