• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

New hiking boots vs old comfortable running sneakers?

metfan

Time of past OR future Camino
Newbie. Going end of September to early Oct
Hi all. I am going to do the last 100km of Camino the end of September to early October. I am a newbie. I know there are plenty of footwear threads but I need advice. I went to EMS Sports and they talked me into high top hikers. They said I needed ankle support. I do not have any ankle issues. I wore them around the store and was properly fitted. They are fine and fairly comfortable. However, my instincts are telling me to wear my tried and true runner sneakers. I am a runner. I have done 2 marathons and many shorter races. I always wear Asics gel nimbus. I love them and have never gotten blisters. My current pair are about a year old. So pros and cons to hikers. Pros: waterproof, ankle support, sturdy. Cons: I'm not used to high tops. They feel weird. Costly. Heavy. Running shoes. Pros: already have them. Worn in nicely. Comfortable. I'm very used to them. Cons: no ankle support. Not waterproof.

Any thoughts?

Thank you all,
Colleen

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
Welcome Colleen, firstly you don't need high top for the Camino IMO, mids are more than adequate, secondly for the last 100km your runners should be just fine at that time of year. I am presuming you are walking from Sarria to Santiago and if so wear your runners is my advice.
Have a great Camino.
Buen Camino.