• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Pilgrims to record an audio diary?

mhanley

Hello,
I am a producer for a public radio program on religion, spirituality, etc. I am interested in creating a piece on various pilgrimages to holy sites around the world and would like to find someone willing to record an audio diary as they progress along the route. This would involve carrying a small recorder that I would provide, but there would be no payment. Please let me know if you are interested. I will be traveling to Santiago around the first week of April and could rendezvous, if necessary.

Thanks,
Mitch Hanley

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
Hi Mitch.
I would gladly record an audio diary for you but, sadly, we will not be walking the camino this year. Like many other pilgrims, we long to repeat the experience and deepen the learning from it. Perhaps next year on the Via de la Plata!

I hope you will ask several pilgrims in the "Class of 2008" to record their feelings/observations for your project. There is a range of reactions that pilgrims from different backgrounds/countries/continents have to their journey, and your work will be the richer for it.

It is without question a transformative experience, and on the way last year I was amazed to see the changes in fellow pilgrims, over time and distance on the camino. (I may have changed a bit myself). The camino starts long before the walking begins and it continues long after the walking is complete.

Good luck with your project. I enjoyed your work on A Prairie Home Companion, which is the best darned radio show since Jean Shepherd gave it up!