• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Walking the Camino Ingles mid-October

margomorrison

Time of past OR future Camino
October 2023
Hello. I'm doing the Camino for the first time in mid-October. The Camino Ingles. My understanding is that it's a five-day walk from Ferrol to Santiago. I've been training for a couple of months, and still unsure if I'm going to be able to walk the 15-18 miles per day. If I feel the need to take transportation from one of the towns to the next destination, what are my options?

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
@margomorrison , may I suggest that if you're unsure, then just add a day or two to your plans ( assuming that's possible) .
Just because most walk it in 4 to 5 days doesn't mean you HAVE to. That's just sticking to the so called 'Stages'. There are many little towns along the camino and whilst not all have Albergues many do, or at least a small Hotel etc.
Lots of people have posted here about taking it slowly, one or two planned 8 day's (for health reasons). If you've been training, even allowing one day more will make a big difference to the mileage you need to cover on a daily basis.
Sorry, appreciate that's not really a direct answer to your transport question. Worst case taxis are everywhere, and I believe one or two towns have buses between but sorry I can't recall which.
Buen Camino!