• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

any gear after pics?

chewingfoil

Time of past OR future Camino
Thinking about it, after laughing at a friend to his face when he invited me along.
Hi, everyone! I've been researching the Camino for a couple of years and I've gone on/off/on/off etc with doing it...I'm considering it again this time, as I'm going through some career stuff (sigh)

The question is: does anyone ever take pictures of the stuff they FINISH with? There are hundreds of blogs where people meticulously lay out all the stuff they're packing. But has anyone done a before/after? I'm thinking a lot of the before pics seem to have a lot of stuff (more than I'd consider bringing) but I wonder what got left behind or discarded along the way. Anyone have any list or pics of the stuff they finished with? I've got a friend who does the Camino (I think about 8 times now) with scarcely more than a large fanny pack. I envy him.

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Hi, I have at least two un-packinglists on my blog, link below. If you search the forum for un-packinglist you will find quite a few. For some that list will be shorter, for some longer...

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
View attachment 25787 View attachment 25786

On the left, my boots after their first Camino. On the right, after some post-Camino TLC.
Buen Camino
I have been back and forth about bringing my Salomon trail runners, or my Keen mid high leather with Keen dry. The weather is supposed to be so rainy and the pictures are showing so much mud. Are you a believer in wearing the hiking booots?