• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Back to the Camino

brothersamuel

Time of past OR future Camino
Frances 2007, Primitivo 2023, ??? 2024
Hola, everyone!

I have walked the Camino Frances in autumn 2007 with my then fiancé (now my wife, today is our 15th wedding anniversary...), during our planning we have found the (old) forum a great help. Since then I have been avoiding this forum for many years, trying not to scratch the pilgrim-itch, due to many other obligations - family, work, voluntary work, etc. etc.

Yesterday, on the Feast of St. James, I had this realization or inspiration: Our kids will be finishing their homeschooling time soon - NOW is the time to walk (at least a short) Camino with each of them, before they get sucked in the high school life... So, I am now fighting by work calendar to clear some two week space in my work schedule and looking for flights to Asturias - the plan is to walk the Camino Primitivo (or part of the Norte? Still not 100% sure, but leaning towards the Primitivo) with my 14yo son. Next year will be my daughter's turn, we will see where from...

I cannot wait to be back - the memories from the first pilgrimage are still so alive... - and my son cannot wait to start walking... The kids have often listened to our stories and memories from back then, now is their time to make their own. And I am immensely thankful that I can walk along with them.

So, thanks to everyone contributing here, I have already found a fount of information to help us choosing the route. And if anyone will be walking at the end of September / early October, see you then, Deo volente.

Pax!

A selection of Camino Jewellery
You're lucky to have kids that want to do this. I've had no success getting my 14 year old daughter wanting to do it. Hopefully that changes one day...