• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Buying equipment at SJPP

Padrepapp

Time of past OR future Camino
planning (2017)
As I can't bring a swiss army knife or scissors in my Hand Luggage on the flight, can I buy said equipments at SJPP? I got my army knife from my father, so I am not an expert in selecting original swiss army knives and not copies. Any recommendation on this topic?

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-
Try in SJPdP the Boutique du Pelerin. Ask if they sell Victorinox/Swiss Army knives in a contact email using this web.
You can write in English or French.

Furthermore in Bayonne there is a salespoint for Victorinox/Swiss Army knives at
Arteon, 11 rue Orbe

Good luck and Buen camino!

Last edited:
I recommend Victorinox or Wenger knives. From Wikipedia: "The Swiss Army knife is the best-known product by Victorinox. Originally the sole supplier, Victorinox has shared the contract with Wenger since 1908. A compromise between the two companies gave Victorinox the right to advertise as the Original Swiss Army Knife, while Wenger laid claim to the title of Genuine Swiss Army Knife. Victorinox took over Wenger in 2005."

The Swiss Army officier's knife had the cork-screw. The enlisted man's knife did not. I don't know if this is still the case. Anyway, get the cork screw with the knife and be a camino hero to those who don't have one.