• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Can I still walk the Camino two weeks after neck operation?

laurence

Time of past OR future Camino
walking in April 2016 for first time
I have been planning this walk for over a year. I am walking with my two sons and each of us have taken a month out of our busy lives, to do this.
I like to think that I am embracing the ethos of the Camino, by only planning the first and last day.
On my recent post, I had very helpful advice(thank you all) and I elected to have no plans for the balance of the 26 days.
I am a fit healthy middle-aged man and the one thing I did not factor in was my own health( I am a doctor.... We don't get sick).
I have an acute disc lesion in my neck(I did nothing wrong to get this...unfair!) and need to have an operation this week( last medical problem was 50 years ago)
I'm hoping that I will find some person, who has had a similar experience and can tell me whether I can still do this walk, beginning in three weeks time.I can get my sons to carry my pack, if necessary.
Am I being stupid?
Should I just go for it?
Should I postpone for a year? .....Will we ever get this opportunity again.
I welcome any suggestions and advice.

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
I can't answer directly but can suggest a couple of things that might help.

No need for your sons to carry your pack - there are bag handling companies up and down the Camino (I'm assuming you will do the Camino Francés) They are very easy to use - see Caminofacil here and Jacotrans here for two companies. There are probably others.