• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Contactability

GregHoyland

Time of past OR future Camino
Walked the Camino in 2011 as part of my 60th birthday year events. Plan to walk it again in 2016 at the start of my retirement
Hello! I'm a Camino novice - doing my first stretch this year (start June 19th finishing July 11th) from Leon to Santiago (at 60! Help!). I want to travel light and gadget free so am not planning to take my mobile - fine for me as I can use call boxes if necessary but what about folks at home needing to contact me in an emergency? Does anyone have any advice on whether it's possible to contact pilgrims along the Way?
Thanks, Greg

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
How wonderful to be planning your first Camino! If you have an email address your family can contact you that way. Many albergues have pay-Internet, so do Cafe-bars and libraries and you'll find Internet cafes along the way in larger towns.
I always buy a phone card over there that I can phone home (South Africa) and try to call home at least once a day.
Have a great walk.

I think e-mail is the best way to keep in touch. I didn't have my mobile with me either. Didn't see a lot of pay phones either, but I wasn't really looking for them. I didn't Skype with my family on the Camino, but I know there are places to do that if you want.

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
GregHoyland said: