• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Debating which route to take – Camino de Frances (Leon to Santiago) or Camino de Portugeus (Porto to Santiago)

yb2971

Time of past OR future Camino
March (2018)
Hello!

I am looking to do the camino beginning on March 20, 2018. I am unsure which route to take – Leon to Santiago or Porto to Santiago. I am pretty new at this and just starting my research.

Are both routes pretty comparable in terms of their difficulty? Are both routes readily equipped (with hostel availability, etc) during this time of year? Any other tips or information would be very appreciated. Thank you all in advance!!

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
Howdy Pilgrim,

The Frances will be more rural but you will most likely run into snow storms as you cross mountains in March. You should have better weather on the Portuguese but your trek will be through more urban centers, flatter terrain, and more distance needing to be covered per day.

The Frances has more albergues on it than the Portuguese, but you should not have trouble finding a bed on either route during the time of year you're travelling.

The Frances always has more people on it, which means you'll meet more people, but then chances are higher of running into drama. With less pilgrims on the Portuguese, there's more solitude and time to reflect, but then again, how many hours/days can you handle walking by yourself?

There is more road walking on the Portuguese and its harder on your feet.

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.