• For 2024 Pilgrims: ā‚¬50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Family Camino Guidelines

caligal92130

Time of past OR future Camino
Hey there, Camino friends,

I would love some feedback on our family guidelines below. In mid May, our 18 YO vegetarian daughter will go with my husband and I on Camino Frances. We're training at 10-12 miles/day now, planning to train up to 15 m/d. She's at 10 miles just now, wearing her trail runners and pack, hubby and I at 12 m/d now.

We have put together a few family guidelines to make certain we all have fun as much as possible and to anticipate potential problems. I would love some feedback on these - I've never done the Camino before.

We want to make this part cultural excursion, so we allowed for some extra days off (also for comfort). I might have made it into a teen camp with the lower daily mileage ;-)

Here are our Family Guidelines:

1.) Each day we'll walk about 12 miles only. ( unless we hit our groove and unanimously decide to increase to 15 miles/25 KM.)
2.) We'll all stay in the same Albergue. She's vegetarian, so she can cook if she wants, we can go out to dinner (we don't have to be vegetarians!). We're staying at vegetarian Albergues where possible.
3.) Each person will have 2 tickets - they are for a full day off from walking - to sleep in, tend to blisters, see town, whatever. So, everyone takes a day off if anyone else turns in a ticket that morning.
4.) You can also turn in half a ticket for a short day (6 miles) if you prefer. So, we sleep in if anyone turns in a half ticket the night before (go to hostel or hotel then), or we have a short day.
5.) We're all taking 4 planned days off: at Pamplona, Burgos, Leon, and Santiago.