• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

First Time Pilgrim starting from Lisbon

Oz Reg

Time of past OR future Camino
First Attempt
Hi,
Im a newbie to this pilgrimage and I have no experience walking such a long walk.

I arrive in Lisbon and wondering if I have to start from Lisbon or Porto?
Im new to Portugal and I don't know where to go.

How long more would i have to walk if I start from Lisbon instead of Porto?

I have allowed 3 weeks for the whole walk. I don't want to rush.
So would it be advisable to start from Lisbon?

Do I have to book accommodation in advance or would I find accommodation in every town/village? I just need basic accommodation.

I have downloaded some maps. Are they sufficient? will there be a lot of people walking around this time of year?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
Hi,
Im a newbie to this pilgrimage and I have no experience walking such a long walk.

I arrive in Lisbon and wondering if I have to start from Lisbon or Porto?
Im new to Portugal and I don't know where to go.

How long more would i have to walk if I start from Lisbon instead of Porto?

I have allowed 3 weeks for the whole walk. I don't want to rush.
So would it be advisable to start from Lisbon?

Do I have to book accommodation in advance or would I find accommodation in every town/village? I just need basic accommodation.

I have downloaded some maps. Are they sufficient? will there be a lot of people walking around this time of year?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
Welcome - Benvenuto -
do search the link on the Portuguese Caminho and you shall find ample info from kind fellow pilgrims - it's a cornucopia of info and insights and advise.