• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

First timer! Any advice?

rose.crez

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino del Norte (may 2018)
Hi all,
This spring I'm going to walk my first Camino (Del Norte), and I'm a proper newbie! I've been trying to prepare my Camino but I've bumped into some things.:
-Where should I start my Camino
-How do I plan my route (do I need to prebook the alberque, and if so which ones?)
-Which hostels are good?
Does anyone have advice for me? Thanks in advance!

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
Welcome rose.crez, it is great to have you here. From an earlier post of mine:

I would suggest that your very first step on this forum would be to explore the various topics which cover your specific concerns. There is a large storehouse of information available at your fingertips, and the search engine on this forum will help find the answers to the topics you need to research.

It is a bit overwhelming when you decide to do something like a Camino. But if you take a big breath and focus on one subject area at a time it will reduce the overwhelming and anxious feelings you have. You can start by looking at information to help you decide which route and what time of year you want to go. Decide if you have the time and desire to do an entire Camino, or is your time limited and you want to do a bit of the Camino over a few years. Once you have firmed up those areas, then things will start to come together in you mind as you plan your trip. Just start reading through the various forums to get the feel of how everything works and how folks interact.