• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Getting from Santiago de Compostela to Paris (cheaply)

jeremy.jones

Time of past OR future Camino
July (2013)
I don't know if there is a direct train? Or a train at all? maybe a cheap flight? Can someone please help me? I am new to the Camino and traveling mainland europe. I have friends in england and I will meet with them after I do the Camino. But i need to get to paris somehow. Possibly from there to London. Help!

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
Hey Jeremy,

Others may know the train system better, but I bought an airline ticket to get me back to Paris once I am done with my Camino. Vueling airlines flies from Santiago to CDG, but I know other airlines fly nearby. For example, Ryan Airlines flies from Santiago to London-Stansted. There are others as well, Kayak.com is my goto for flights like that, but others may have suggestions.

As for price, it varies greatly depending on when you fly and how far in advance you book, but flying out of Santiago on a Friday cost me around 100 euros.

I needed to get to Paris at the end of my first Camino in 2008 as well, and didn't want to book ahead as I didn't know how long the walk would take me. It was going to cost me about 250 Euro to fly at short notice, so I took the day/night train combo that existed then for about 200 Euro with a sleeper. However, I then met up with some young ones who had been far smarter with their arrangements. They took a train to Porto, and managed to get a cheap flight out of Porto to Paris. Worth considering!
Margaret

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.