• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

My first Camino - clothing & footwear when done walking for the day

DeeLove

Time of past OR future Camino
None yet.
Hello,

I'm a new member and will be walking from Sarria to Santiago in a couple of weeks. I've been checking the weather and so far it has been showing some rain and chilly, at least for me as I am a Florida resident. My question is, what do you recommend to wear on your feet at the end of the day? I had planned on bringing a sundress and wear flip flops, but it looks like I am going to need pants, and warmer clothes. As far as my feet, I'm not sure what to wear as I want to be able to give them room to breathe and be comfortable while walking around at night. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
Hello,

what do you recommend to wear on your feet at the end of the day? I had planned on bringing a sundress and wear flip flops, but it looks like I am going to need pants, and warmer clothes. As far as my feet, I'm not sure what to wear as I want to be able to give them room to breathe and be comfortable while walking around at night. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

On a cool/cold evening, I wear my silk leggings (longjohns), injinji lightweight toe socks and oofos recovery sandals on my feet and legs. On top, I wear a sundress (that has pockets and a shelf bra) with my long sleeve merino shirt and fleece, if it is cold. Alternate footwear: I bring a pair of sheepskin insoles that are incredibly soft and squishy that I swap into my Topo trail runners.