• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Need to book in VDLP?

Miaka

Time of past OR future Camino
Next: VdLP 2024
I have walked different caminos quite a few times, but this is my first time walking the Plata (planning on starting in March 2024) and also walking post covid. I have heard from a lot of people that you cannot even function on the Frances anymore without booking ahead which saddened me a lot, considering when I first walked you couldn't even book, just had to turn up and hope for the best.

Anyone who has walked the Plata in 2023, could you please confirm something regarding this?
I prefer to walk as much as I can without the need to arrive somewhere at a certain time.
Thank you in advance!

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
I have heard from a lot of people that you cannot even function on the Frances anymore without booking ahead
Welcome to the forum!

It is too bad that you have been left with that general impression, which isn't entirely accurate. There is more detail in this thread and this one, with some useful strategies.

Back to your question about the VDLP, I haven't walked it in a few years, but my impression is that crowding is still not a big problem. There are a few towns/villages with limited accommodation, so you will want to be aware of how many other pilgrims are likely on those stages on your day. Perhaps once you get started, you'll need to make an assessment of that.