• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Picking the right Backpack

Consigliere

Time of past OR future Camino
October 2013, April 2018, October 2023
After reading a few threads about differing equipment for the Camino, I thought I might drop a few tips about what I think to be the second most important item we all carry, the backpack (right behind a good pair of shoes). I'm by no means an expert, but after 30+ years of backpacking, I thought this may help those looking for a pack that's right for them.

Biggest tip I can give... go into a "professional" hiking/backpack store so staff can help you with picking the pack that is "right for you".

1. No backpack is perfect! Don't read a review and think "that's the one!", whats good for one individual may not be for another. It's our individuality that effects how comfortable a pack will be. ie. shape, size, weight, gender, torso height, muscle mass and how much you sweat all effect how comfortable a pack will be.

2. Weight is NOT everything - Weight DISTRIBUTION is. I know this will turn a few heads, yes weight is an important factor, but shedding weight for the sake of appropriate support is not an option I would take.

For example, I have an excellent 35lt backpack (1.35kg), which seems perfect for the Camino. But when I fill it up, the pack size & weight tends to make it a little unstable, and a little tight in areas. I also have a 75lt backpack (2.1kg) which I will never fill, but with the same weight, the 75lt backpack is sooooo much more comfortable, and distributes the wight across my body so much better.