• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

please, help me to decide....sandals?

meta

Dear all,

I really need advise in choosing the shoes for a walk.

Is it a silly thought if I would have only walking sandals and a pair of waterproof socks in case it rains? As I am going to walk in August and September… and I just can’t stand then my feet are in hot conditions… I mean boots. Sometimes it feels that I would better go barefoot :wink:

But a lot discussions are made about the best footwear. I am new in this field, so do not know anything. As I am planning to walk from Saint Jean Pied de Port to Finisterre, how do you think, will I be ok with sandals?

I have one problem with my knee. After my first long distance journey, I did not care a lot and have damaged something. Sometimes it starts to hurt suddenly, and the pain suddenly disappears. Doctors can’t help me as they can’t find anything. Ye, modern medicine;) I am going to heal it with Reiki, I believe it will help.
But why am telling this… :roll:
because I have read that boots protect knees. That’s another issue for me in choosing between them and sandals…

Oh, it’s the first long journey… and as closer it comes, more questions the mind creates. If anyone could help me… I am really happy that this forum exist!!!

Thanks!

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Hi Meta, there are as many opinions about footwear as there are people. The equipment forum has lots of info. My best advice is try out the different approaches before you go. Is 200 E worth having to stop you camino? There will always be unknowns, but you can get to something comfortable for you. Noone can tell you how something feels to you. Ultreya, John

Hi Meta,