• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Restaurante Galicia in Baamonde

peregrina2000

Staff member
On @filly’s live thread on the Lana, he mentioned that he had eaten parga (a fish) at a restaurant in Cuenca. That word jolted my memory and brought me back to a restaurant in Baamonde where I had eaten parga.

What I remember (pasting in here a post from 2011) was this:

the Restaurante Galicia has outstanding food, and the owner of the restaurant is a true Camino Character. He serves a queimada to rival Jesus Jato's, though I am no expert. But it is equally dramatic.

I think I remember hearing that the man who had ran/owned the restaurant had died. But it looks like the Restaurant is still going strong.

I haven’t been there in many many years, and would love to hear from forum members who have memories too!

The 9th edition the Lightfoot Guide will let you complete the journey your way.
My memory is a very recent one, I ate there about six weeks ago.. a giant helping of gambas al ajillo mopped up with about half a loaf of bread, it was heaven. No idea about the owners, old or new but service was very friendly, I liked the cosy tavern atmosphere, a welcome change from fluorescent lighting and blaring TV..

The 9th edition the Lightfoot Guide will let you complete the journey your way.
Yes it is "pargo". As a coincidence, Parga must be the next village in the
variant Baamonde-Parga-Sobrado. The "feira" of Parga ( two per month) is very popular for its pulpo.

I think that should be "pargo". I remember it from my youth, when friends spearfished off the Venezuelan coast.
So my error is two-fold, because I erroneously remembered it was a river fish! But I am sure I remember it was delicious!