• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

St. Jean Pied de Port

sander Leu

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances (2017)
Hello, my name is Sander, I am 18 years old now, and will be 19 when i plan to walk Camino Frances this summer. I was told to start off in Saint Pied de Port, and since I am totally new to this I figured this was the place to ask. How do I get to Saint Pied de Port? Like, what is the nearest airport, and how do I get from there to Saint Pied de Port? I can use all the help I can get! :)

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
Hi Sander, welcome to the forum.
It would be helpful if you tell us where you are flying from because there are a lot of combinations.

Oh yeah, of course, I am flying from Denmark, either Billund or Copenhagen airport.

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
Fly to Biarritz, train to St-Jean-Pied-de-Port, or fly to Pamplona, bus to St-Jean-Pied-de-Port, or fly to San Sebastian and train to St-Jean-Pied-de-Port, or fly to Pau and train to St-Jean-Pied-de-Port.

Follow the links here for further details

You can fly direct from Copenhagen to Biarritz which is the closest airport to SJPDP.
From Biarritz you have the option of getting a bus to Bayonne and a train from there to SJPDP. Alternatively you can use Expressbouricot which is a taxi service, the cost depends on the number of passengers.

Hi Sander,
I completed the Camino by bike last June.
From St Pied de Port to Finisterre.
I'm Aussie and flew into Paris Charles de Gaulle Airport which has a TGV train station in it. 2 changes and 3.5 hours and I was in SPdP. The last change was onto a smaller "local" Train.
https://m.en.voyages-sncf.com
Lastly. Tips. It is amazing but the "Camino will provide".