• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.
  • Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Will I be warm enough?

SafariGirl

Time of past OR future Camino
Francés, Vía de la Plata, Primitivo, Norte, Lebaniego & Vadiniense,
Aragonés
Hola amigo/as, Can you share your views please? I leave SJPP in a week & am just beginning to wonder if I'm going to be warm enough. To keep weight down I'm taking short & long-sleeved tech-tees, a micro fleece & a very thin waterproof jacket. My plan was to layer & generate body heat by walking! I'll also have a thermal beanie & gloves, but I'm just beginning to wonder if I'll be warm enough. My furthest point will be Burgos. Any views appreciated.

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
I think you should be all right, especially with the layering. If you do feel cold, you will be able to buy extra clothes in Pamplona at least. Buen Camino!

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-
The layering decision is usually made after you arise and check to see what the weather is like.
Usually, to be nice and snug when starting out, that meant utilising 3 layers. The outermost fleece layer usually being removed within an hour.
At higher altitude, at it's morning very coldest in Sep/Oct that meant 4 layers, rainwater being here used as a windproof warmth layer.
Regds
Gerard