• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Obtaining a credencial in Burgos?

pjdine

Dear All,

I am from the UK and am joining two American friends in May, who are picking up where they left off last year in Burgos. Can anyone can tell me where I might obtain a credencial in Burgos? Most sites dedicated to El Camino refer vaguely to them being available at refugios and tourist offices. I would be grateful for any information slightly more definite than that.

And - any thoughts on walking poles? I am new to the Camino, but already listening to advice, and obsessively weighing everything and discarding anything not absolutely necessary. I've never used them (or any other type of walking stick) - should I give them a try?

With many thanks,

Pippa

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
I don't use poles and given the abbreviated distance you will be walking and that you've never used them before I wouldn't bother. If you can borrow one try it out before you leave.

Burgos Credentials

For credencials, try the Cathedral ticket office or the main Tourist Information office which is just a few metres away from the Cathedral. If neither of these places have credencials, they can direct you to the right place.

I had never used hiking poles before the Camino, but last year took a pair and found them invaluable. Great for leaning on when walking uphill and, for me anyway, saves the knees when going downhill. I would have been lost without them. They are very easy to use and carry, and you'll soon get into your own rhythm.

There's actually quite a distance between Burgos and Santiago, with variable terrain, so I think you will find them quite useful.