• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

please help: Groups of school students walking the Camino

Status
Not open for further replies.

soydechiapas

Time of past OR future Camino
June (2013)
While hiking the stretch from Sarría to Santiago I noticed large groups of students hiking alongside and staying in the albergues. I am a teacher in Indiana USA and I would like to take a group of students to walk with me that same stretch. I want my students to stay in albergues instead of hotels. Travel companies I have contacted are unwilling to do this. Can someone put me in contact with a school that has arranged this last section so I can arrange a trip similarly?

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
a school that has arranged this last section
The last 100km is a standard part of the curriculum of many middle schools in Spain. The groups seem to have about 20 students in them with another 4-5 chaperones. Planning is probably automatic from year to year. I think they are able to make reservations in xunta albergues even though the rest of us cannot.

Here are the places I observed them staying:

Sarria - any of several private albergues
Portomarin - municipal albergue, O Mirador, and Ferramenteiro
Palas de Rei - municipal and Os Chacotes (in the park on the hill before town)
Arzua - Don Quijote and Ultreia
Pedrouzo - Porta de Santiago and the xunta albergue
Santiago - Monte do Gozo

What a great question. I hope you receive useful replies.