• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

SIM card or Monthly International Plan with Verizon

Cynthia Gwynn

Time of past OR future Camino
Frances
I am traveling from US to Spain for 7 weeks for the Camino. I use Verizon cell service at home. They have an international plan I can add for $100/30 days that gives me 250 talk minutes & 5 gb of data. I am wondering whether to do that or to get a SIM card for Spain which I have no experience with. I did confirm that my phone is unlocked. Do you thoughts about the advantages or disadvantages of these options based on your experience? My thought is I will mostly be using the phone to reserve accommodations a day ahead. I also will have my son joining me who will walk at a faster pace so I will want a bit of back and forth to keep up with each other which could be by text. I would imagine he will not have a SIM card as he will be there only a few days. Perhaps we just do that through What's App. Thank you.

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
The advantage of the new SIM card is the cost - you can get lots of minutes and data for about $25/month. For your 7 weeks in Spain, I would recommend it.

Without a local SIM , you can use any of the usual apps - email, WhatsApp, Messenger - but only while you are connected to wifi. On the Camino Frances, there is no shortage of wifi, but you (or your son) won't have it continuously, so you might need to plan your check-ins.

Is it possible for your son to get just a few days of international service from your home provider? But that will probably cost almost as much as a new SIM for him.