• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Finally going to do it! First camino

How should I walk from Paris to Tours?

• via Orleans

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • via Chartres

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters

KathrynTheGreat597

Time of past OR future Camino
From Paris to León (Summer 2017)
From León to Santiago/Fisterre (July 2018)
I'm a high school English teacher from Kansas. I've done a ton of traveling (especially in Europe), but not anything like this! I've wanted to do this pilgrimage for years and years. Although I am not religiously inclined, I'm kind of an amature Medievalist (one of my Bachelor's is in history) and so the long history of this route, walked by millions of feet over the last thousand years, has always been immensely appealing to me.

My plan is to start in Paris and walk all the way to Santiago in about ten weeks. I land in Paris 1 June 2017 and plan on starting walking the very next day. My flight home out of Paris is 8 August. I hope I can walk the entire thing and not have to use a bus or train, but I understand that that may change. I would also like to do the last little bit to Finisterre, time allowing.

I have most of my equipment but am still working on buying some.

I'm most worried about the stretch from Paris to either Chartres or Orleans (haven't decided which way to approach Tours). Most of the people who "start" in Paris actually catch transport to one of those two cities. I understand that the walk through the Parisian suburbs is not going to be the most beautiful or the easiest, but if anyone has any information on it, I would really appreciate it. I'm committed to really walking every step as much as time will allow.

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!